Why aren’t you doing anything about it…

One of the main reasons I opted to have most of my stomach cut out was because all my life I’ve been a “horse chick” … a “fat horse chick” most of the time…which caused me to not reach my possible full potential as a rider of any discipline, and also, let’s face it was unfair to any horse I was riding. For years I pretty much hated myself, always asking “me” “Why aren’t you doing anything about it…” and now that I’ve done something about it, I wish I could help others in the same situation achieve the weight loss that I have, whether it be surgically, or just emotional support as they battle their demons (fat girl brain is what I call her).

blundersThis article popped up today in my Facebook feed and I think it’s important that the weight of the rider be addressed or acknowledged…if you are 30, 50 or 100 or more lbs overweight, my question is…why aren’t you doing something about it?

So without further ranting, I’m going to just leave this right here…

“OUT OF SHAPE AND OVERWEIGHT”
“For both us and our mounts riding is an athletic sport which demands good muscles and a fit body. Overweight or out of shape riders put more stress on their animals than a rider who weighs less. Those extra pounds make a difference. There’s a reason that jockeys go to extreme lengths to shed a single pound. Trail riders may not be racing but those extra Twinkies will add up as the miles pass by. Also, riding as your only activity does not create enough cardiovascular stimulus to keep you fit. This means your heart can be under strain from riding as opposed to being conditioned by it.” https://www.trailmeister.com/top-six-beginner-blunders-trail-riders/

 

Leave a Reply

