I am Thankful :)

For so many things!  I’m a pretty lucky person, I have a job I enjoy, a home I love (even though we are looking for more land), an awesome husband who adores me, a wonderful adult son who is mature, responsible, married and taking care of himself like a boss…I never really want for anything etc. What more could I ask for?  Early last year when I started the process toward weight loss surgery I got that “what more” thing, and that was help to be “not fat”.  I got it! I worked it! I’m happy with it!

So here I sit, after having just cooked and eaten my first post WLS (last year I was still on liquids) modified Thanksgiving dinner, just for me and the  husband. We opted for a spatchcocked chicken vs turkey, with green bean casserole made with homemade cream of mushroom soup, a homemade lower carb (less bread crumb, more other stuff) sausage and apple stuffing, and homemade super low sugar (like 2tbl vs 2 cups) orange cranberry sauce. No pie required as my husband despises anything in the squash family (I made a no pie sweet potato custard earlier this week) We will have some sugar free pistachio pudding for dessert later on.

I just want to say  Thanks to all who may be reading this now and in the past, I appreciate you taking the time to check out my “dear diary” and I hope you had a wonderful day 🙂

Collage 2016-11-24 16_16_59.jpg

Clockwise from top: sausage and apple stuffing, orange cranberry sauce, green bean casserole and chicken breast on a 6″ plate. Serving size was about 2 tablespoons of each side dish with just under 2oz of chicken with about 1.5 tablespoons gravy.Welcome to Post WLS Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

