I’m (I was) fat because…

“It runs in my family”

“My hormones are out of whack”

“I have no metabolism”

“I consume more calories than I burn off in a given day”

“All of the above!!!”

I’m feeling reflecty today (it’s a word lol) thinking about all the years I spent lying to myself about why I got fat, how I stayed fat, why I yoyo’d up and down between 100 something lbs and 305lbs.  When you break it all down I think it starts with your (my) “mindset”.  

I’ve always known that in order to lose weight you need to burn more calories than you consume. I’ve always known that to maintain weight you need to consume right around as many calories as you are burning off. I’ve always known that to gain weight you need to consume more calories that you are burning off…and I always lied to myself that I gained weight because of genetics, hormones, metabolism…anything really, other than the fact that bottom line, despite all of those things having some speck of truth, I simply consumed more calories per day than I actually needed to in order to maintain a healthy weight.  The biggest lie we tell ourselves is “I don’t know why I can’t lose weight”. We know why, we just haven’t committed to doing it! Eat less!

This is why I now know that obesity is not only a disease of the body, but of the mind as well.  I couldn’t face my own truth that I simply needed to put the fork down, eat less and burn more calories than I consumed to lose weight or burn as many calories as I took in to maintain weight.  I needed to look at food, first as fuel, and not: a reward or form of therapy.  (I’m happy let’s have ice cream | I’m sad let’s have ice cream).

My new tool (VSG) is a strict reminder that quantity matters. Capacity has limits. When the tank is full, the tank is full.  As long as I don’t abuse this tool it will work for me. It’s up to me to not lie to myself and work around this! No cheating myself anymore!

As I enter year 2 of this journey, I am going to keep my long term goal in sight, one day, one week, one year at a time. This time next year I will be wearing the same jeans (size 6) I am wearing today…anything bigger is going to the donation box in town!

Life is good 🙂

Leave a Reply

