One Ride At A Time!

Sunday, May 1st my husband and I got up and headed out for an early morning trail ride in Pack Forest (4000 acre experimental forest run by WSU across the street from us).

I can’t tell you how amazing it felt to be riding, after not having been on a trail ride for approximately 1 year and 7 months due to being too fat, too sore, too depressed because of being too fat and too sore!  My weight on the last trail ride prior to cutting myself off was 209# with approximately 50# of heavy saddle/gear…approximately 25% of my horses weight.

My horses current carry load is me: 169# (and decreasing weekly), light weight saddle/gear approximately just under 30#.  Willy weighs in at approximately 1050, so we are now in the desirable 20% or less range of how much weight a horse should be asked to carry.  Don’t get me wrong, I know that a horse can carry quite a bit more than that, but goal wise, I want to be in that 20% or less!

I can’t wait to go out and ride again this weekend!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

