Back to reality

Dear Diary….j/k

I had my 2 week post op checkup yesterday. I’m healing well (even the incision that split is doing better), and losing weight as expected. I need to get more water (clear liquids) and more protein (icky shakes) in each day…but I already knew that.  I am starting my daily vitamin and my daily calcium supplements now.  The fast loss express of the first 10 days has slowed, but I fully expect to reach Onederland by New Years.  I did the math, it’s fully reachable in that timeframe 😀

Not a whole lof of interesting things going on post op or otherwise. My formerly tight fat jeans slid right on the other day…my go to yoga pants and hoody’s are starting to hang instead of cling…but I’ve decided not to buy anything new for some time to come. I have things put away from the weight climb.  I have a range of size 18 down to size 10 so they’ll all work for now as I lose this fat that has trapped me for the past couple years.

The last 2 weeks have gone by so fast…and I feel pretty good, about 85% “normal”.  I still have some discomfort in my incisions and if I sprint (don’t picture it lol) up the stairs to my office I’m a little more winded than previously.  I’m not allowed to go back to “normal” activities for at least 2 more weeks.

It’s somewhat driving me nuts that I can’t do my farm chores right now…that’s like my form of WOD! The girl we have hired to do them is great though and we think we might want to semi-adopt her as a 4H kid who’s shows we can go watch and cheer her on. She’s a hard worker and it shows!

For now I’ll just keep on trying to get in my water, protein and maybe do some easy modified yoga or stretching until my incisions are fully healed and I can get back to my regular things!

3 comments

  1. Congratulations on your progress! I’ve been out-of-the-loop here lately, and just getting around to reading your posts. I’m thinking of starting back on m yoga as well. I definitely understand the farm chores part, luckily my husband and son take care of most of that for me. 🙂

  2. Have you tried using Collagen Hydrolysate in addition to the protein you’re already using? You can use it in warm or cold drinks and it helps to repair connective tissue. I use Great Lakes brand and I like it as an extra protein source. Glad your feeling “85% normal” 🙂 I’m not sure I ever feel that normal 😉

Leave a Reply

